The MMC was formed in 1958 by a group who had attended a night-school course in mountaineering run by Liverpool Education Authority. The aim of the club was (and is) to encourage mountaineering in all its forms for mountaineers who have gained some initial experience and who want to expand and develop their knowledge.
The Club aquired its first climbing hut in 1959, a former farm house called Nant-y-Merddyn on the Denbigh moors, near Llantsannan which was in use until April 1962. That same month the Club moved to Cae'r Fran, its present Welsh home in the hills above Llanberis. Cae'r Fran has been in continual use since then by our Members, Guests and by other outdoor Clubs and Organisations.
The Club has grown from thirty-four members in 1958 to over two hundred in 2001. This growth in membership has enabled the Club to widen its net of Mountaineering contacts and thereby increase access for its Members to mountaineering activities, while at the same time it has retained the informal atmosphere of its early days.